Car Insurance for Teens in Massachusetts
Car insurance for teens in Massachusetts and the driving safety tips every junior operator needs to know before they take to the road.
There are few milestones in life as exciting as getting your driver’s license. It’s a brand new journey you’re entering into and the first big step to becoming independent. Now you can drive yourself to school, to practice, or to your part-time job. It probably feels like there is no end to your freedom once you have access to four wheels.
Morse of course knows all about this rite of passage. Every single person in our agency was, once upon a time, a teenager just like you. So we know that getting your driver’s license not only comes with a lot of bonuses, but also with a great deal of responsibility and rules to follow. And it may sound like we are taking on the parent role now, but as your local independent insurance agent, it is our job to support both you and your parents as you navigate this new role as a first-time driver. That is why we are sharing five safe driving tips below that will help to ensure that every journey you take from here on out is a safe one.
Massachusetts Teen Driving Safety Tips
1. What it means to be a Junior Operator in Massachusetts.
We know you may not like the sound of being called a “Junior Operator.” But, try to overlook the term if you can and understand that Massachusetts has junior operator laws in place because they are making your wellbeing the highest priority. Also, you are only a junior operator for a very short while – from when you first receive your driver’s license until you turn 18. That’s doable! So always keep in mind the number one rule for a junior operator; that you are not allowed to transport passengers under the age of 18 if they are not immediate family members. The only exception is if you are accompanied by an adult 21 years or older who has, themselves, at least one year’s driving experience.
The number two rule for junior operators has to do with cell phone usage. In the state of Massachusetts, it’s against the law for anyone to text and drive. At Morse, we think this is a pretty smart law since the number one cause of driving deaths in the U.S. is due to distracted driving. However, did you know that for junior operators it’s illegal to use a cell phone (handheld or hands-free) at all while driving? That means you cannot make a call or take a call when behind the wheel. There are also some pretty stiff fines if you get caught doing so:
- First offense-$100, 60 day license suspension & attitudinal course
- Second offense-$250, 180 day license suspension
- Third or subs offense-$500, 1 year license suspension
Now that we have covered some basic Massachusetts Junior Operator information, let’s move on to the “big four”…
2. DO NOT DRINK AND DRIVE.
Yes, of course Morse is using all caps and preaching this to you, like so many other adults probably have already. Motor vehicle crashes are already the top cause of death for teens, however Drive-Safely.net reports 60% of these deaths involve alcohol. It sounds cliché but just say no! Also, please do yourself and everyone who cares about you a big favor by always calling your parents or an Uber if you are uncomfortable getting into a car with someone who you think may have been drinking or using drugs.
3. Observe the rules of the road.
As you gain confidence behind the wheel you may find yourself taking more risks, including running yellow lights and speeding. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), running a red light kills more than 900 people a year and injures nearly 2,000. NHTSA also reported in 2013 that about 35 percent of 15 to 20-year-old male drivers who were involved in fatal crashes were speeding at the time of the crash. This is not only a message from Morse to you about strictly obeying traffic rules but it is also a call to be aware of all the other (crazy Massachusetts) drivers around you who may not be as alert and focused as you are.
4. Always wear your seatbelt.
Wearing your seatbelt is the law in Massachusetts and if you are caught without it you could pay fine. However it’s not just because it’s a law; in fact, the biggest reason to wear your seatbelt is it can save your life. According to AAA, seatbelts are the number one most effective means of reducing the risk of death in a motor vehicle accident. Sadly, teens are the worst offenders when it comes to actually wearing them, possibly because it seems like such an uncool thing to do. But trust us, and our years of experience, it’s far more fashionable to stay alive in an accident than it is to not wear a seatbelt and be seriously injured or die. So be smart and dare to be different by buckling up for safety.
5. Beware of drowsy driving.
What is drowsy driving you ask? It’s exactly what it sounds like: getting behind the wheel of your car when you are overtired and exhausted. Your parents, teachers, coaches and other adults are quick to tell you how important it is to wear your seatbelt, not to speed and to never drink and drive. However, what most people don’t realize is that driving while sleepy is almost as dangerous as driving when you have been drinking alcohol and may actually be more common. Trying to balance your class load, homework, extracurricular activities, social life, online life and everything else that goes into being a teen, has made kids your age busier, and more worn-out, than ever. And the crash statistics prove this. Teens that sleep less than eight hours per night are one-third more likely to have a car accident and studies show that more than half of drowsy driving crashes involve drivers under the age of 25.
Car Insurance for Teens in Massachusetts
We hope our driving safety tips help prevent a car accident from happening to you. However, just practicing safe driver tips does not 100% safeguard you from having an incident. Before you get behind the wheel, it’s essential that you have car insurance to protect you from the littlest fender bender to a multi-car accident. Morse, of course, will assist you with all of your car insurance needs whether we are simply adding you to a parents’ policy or you are getting your own. Car insurance for teens can be a little complicated and, hate to say it, but a bit pricey compared to what mom and dad are paying. The good news is that Morse’s knowledgeable team understands all the ins-and-outs of insuring teens and can find all the available discounts you may qualify for.
Car Insurance discounts you and your teen may qualify for:
- Multi Car for Families
- New Customers
- Advanced Driver Training
- A Student Away At School
- Good Student Discount
- Low Mileage Discount
- Vehicle Safety Features
- Automatic Bill Pay/Pay In Full
If you are a teen driver, or you have a son or daughter who is about to take to the road, call your local insurance partner, Morse Insurance, at 508-238-0056. We will gladly walk you through the steps required to ensure that you have the proper auto insurance coverage in place to protect yourself, your car, and your future passengers.